Waiting On That One Break.

The ‘perks’ of being a creative.

Sharon Stephen
3 min readJan 26, 2024
Photo by RhondaK Native Florida Folk Artist on Unsplash

I’m very fortunate to have, what the world considers, a stable source of income by being a Medical Doctor.

I have a bunch of other talents though, I write, I can sing, I can make jewellery, I do photography and I even started learning digital art.

Unfortunately, all these other ‘creative expressions’ have not given me that ‘big break’ that I thought I’d have gotten by now.

Maybe it’s because I’m not as consistent.

Maybe it’s because I’m drowning in my 9–5 which I also enjoy doing.

Maybe I’m just comfortable and I’m unwilling to push myself any further.

Maybe I’m unlucky.

I can’t really say what it is.

But I’ve watched a lot of creatives out there.

I’ve seen a lot go from being unknown, to being well known.

I’ve also seen some who keep trying, consistently putting out content or putting in a lot of work and they’re still yet to get that big break.

What makes the difference?

Is it talent? Skill? Consistency? Prayers? Luck?

Is it all of the above?

I really can’t say.

My desire was that these many talents I have would also serve as a means for multiple streams of income. So far that’s not worked out.

Would it ever? I can’t say.

But would I stop?

No I won’t.

Because even if the world doesn’t give me the recognition (or money Lol) for these talents that I have, I still enjoy doing them.

I enjoy writing. I love when one person reads and can relate to what I write.

I love when I take a picture and someone asks for it and uses it as their phone wallpaper.

I love when I sing (very rarely) and people ask me why I haven’t joined the choir yet (even though, I’m not that great Lol.)

I’d like to believe that God gave us all creative gifts for a reason.

It might not be as a source of income, it might be a source of blessing, support, hope to someone. Who knows?

But all in all.

I know sometimes it’s hard.

I know sometimes you want to give up.

I know it seems impossible or difficult to get that one shot, that one big break.

But don’t stop doing what you love.

Don’t stop expressing your creativity.

Who knows, your breakthrough might just be on the other side of your perseverance and consistency.

All it takes is one moment at the right time and everything changes for the better.

Keep at it.

I’m rooting for you.

Thank you so much for taking time to read my writing. It truly means a lot. Please clap up to 50 times, share, comment if you can and also subscribe so you’d get an email everytime a new writing drops.

Thanks and God bless.

xoxo

-Sharon Stephen

--

--

Sharon Stephen

A young Nigerian woman, sharing her thoughts and feelings, while hoping that you find solace or solidarity in her written words. 💜