Sometimes Eat The Smallest Frog First.

Yes, you read that right.

Sharon Stephen
2 min readDec 27, 2023
Photo by Zdeněk Macháček on Unsplash

A few years ago, I read this book with a friend of mine:

Eat that frog! 21 ways to overcome procrastinating by Brian Tracy.

The title was very fascinating, a bit weird and maybe even funny.

In this book, he describes the tasks you have to do as frogs and he advices to eat the biggest frog first, then the smallest frogs after.

Basically, he’s saying to do the most difficult or the biggest tasks first, then the smallest ones later.

But I’m here with a counter offer.

Another productivity hack for people, like me, who aren’t always feeling motivated to work hard.

Eat the smallest frogs first.

Sometimes, when I have a huge task ahead of me, I’m overwhelmed at just the thought of it. And then I’m unable to accomplish any other task, even the simpler ones.

I’ve found sometimes, that when I do the seemingly less important or the easier tasks first, it gives me some type of momentum to be able to accomplish the bigger tasks.

By getting a ‘high’ from ticking things off my to-do list, (even the least important ones) I’m giving myself more motivation to be able to do other things.

In my opinion, it’s better to accomplish a small task than to accomplish nothing at all.

I’ve learnt that not every single productivity hack is 100% effective for everyone 100% of the time.

The most important thing is to get the job done. So find what works for you.

This works for me.

--

--

Sharon Stephen

A young Nigerian woman, sharing her thoughts and feelings, while hoping that you find solace or solidarity in her written words. 💜